Skip to content
Documentation

Manage backups


Overview

You can find more general info about backups in the Environment detail documentation page.

You have different Actions available to you, depending on your permissions.

Back up now

Users with the correct permissions will see a button in the top right of the Backups tab, to manually create a new backup.

environment-tab-backups-button-backup.png

This opens up a new modal where you have to confirm the action.

backups-modal-back-up.png

After which a new Queuejob is triggered and you get a notification.
When the task is finished, the new backup can be found in the overview, as a manual type.

environment-tab-backups-manual.png

Restore

Users with the correct permissions, will see an option to restore a backup to an environment, when they click the Actions cog of a backup entry.

backup-action-restore.png

Warning

Before restoring a backup, keep in mind this comes with a set of caveats:

  • The Restore action only restores the database
  • Restoring will cause downtime on the selected environment, the downtime will be variable depending on the size of your database and the current server load and size.
  • High-traffic sites that rely heavily on their cache may be unable to recover from downtime during peak hours due to the absence of cache warming.

Clicking the Restore Action, will take you through a few steps to pick the correct environment to restore the database backup to.

backups-modal-restore.png

Select the desired target Environment in the dropdown.

backups-modal-restore-choose-env.png

All you have left to do, is confirm your choice by writing a confirmation text.

backups-modal-confirm.png

Download

Users with the correct permissions will see an option to download a backup. This will be available by clicking the Actions cog of a backup entry.

backup-action-download.png

You'll be able to choose to include the database and/or other paths, such as the entire home folder of the Environment.
If you close the modal while generating the download, you can still find the download links in your Notifications sidebar after the task has finished.
Be aware that the download link only remains active for a limited time.Send us your q

backups-modal-download-step01b.png backups-modal-download.png backups-modal-download-result.png